BHTA 2019 National Culinary Team


The Bahamas Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) held an intense Culinary and Mixology Competition at the University of The Bahamas to determine the final few members of the National Culinary Team, who will compete against top chefs and mixologists throughout the Caribbean at the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association’s “Taste of the Caribbean”. The prestigious event, considered by many to be the “Culinary Olympics of the Caribbean”, will be held in Miami, Florida June 21st to June 25th, 2019.

The BHTA, alongside public and private sector sponsors, fields the team each year in an effort to highlight the culinary and mixology prowess of The Bahamas, and to support the growth and development of Bahamian culinarians and mixologists.

“Bahamian cuisine and cocktails are in a realm of their own” states Carlton Russell, President of the Bahamas Hotel and Tourism Association.  “We continue to see our young and seasoned chefs and mixologists create food and drinks that are at the cutting edge yet retain the essence of Bahamian flavors. We recognize how important this element of our culture and heritage is to Bahamians and visitors alike.  It reflects who we are as a people; and we are so pleased to help bring raw, innate talent to new levels of development through competitions such as the Taste of the Caribbean”.

The 2019 National Culinary Team are comprised of the following members:

Devin Johnson – Team Manager
Mario Adderley – Team Administrator
Jamal Small – Team Captain
Kevyn Pratt – Senior Chef
Celeste Smith – Pastry Chef
Hazen Rolle – Junior Chef
Asteir Dean – Chef Beef Category
Tevin Kemp – Chef Seafood Category
Leonardis Moss – Chef “Caribbean 305”
Derrick Blackmon - Mixologist

The participation of the National Culinary Team at the ‘Taste of the Caribbean’ Competition would not be possible without the support of foundational sponsors and partners: Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, REVOICE, University of The Bahamas, Lyford Cay Club, RIU, Baha Mar’s SLS, Grand Hyatt and Rosewood, Fusion Superplex, Commonwealth Brewery and Coventry Realty.

From left to right back row: Sharon Farrington, BHTA, Team Coordinator, Jr. Chef Hazen Rolle, Chef Leonardis Moss, Chef Kevyn Pratt, Chef Asteir Dean, Chef Tevin Kemp, Chef Mario Adderley, Team Administrator.  From left to right front row: Chef Devin Johnson, Team Manager, Mixologist Derrick Blackmon, Chef Celeste Smith, Chef Jamal Small and Suzanne Pattusch, EVP, BHTA.